Senate members

Gail McGowan

Ms Gail McGowan PSM


Professor Andrew Deeks

Professor Andrew Deeks

Vice Chancellor

Placeholder headshot

Dr Jon Prince

Elected by academic staff

Placeholder headshot

Ms Louise Pallant

Elected by professional staff

Placeholder headshot

Ms Jane Hodgson

Elected by undergraduate students

Placeholder headshot

Mr Karma Wangchuk

Elected by postgraduate students

Roland Belford

Mr Roland Belford

Elected by graduates of the University

Placeholder headshot

Mr Jethro Schoeman

Elected by graduates of the University

Peter Kerr

Mr Peter Kerr

Appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the Minister

Placeholder headshot

Ms Robyn Smith-Walley

Appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the Minister

Placeholder headshot

Professor Krishna Sen

Appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the Minister

Placeholder headshot

Mr Stephen Carre OAM

Co-opted by Senate

Ross Hughes

Mr Ross Hughes

Co-opted by Senate

Emeritus Professor Robyn Owens

Emeritus Professor Robyn Owens AM

Deputy Chancellor / Co-opted by Senate

Stephanie Unwin

Ms Stephanie Unwin

Co-opted by Senate

Placeholder headshot

Barry Winmar

Co-opted by Senate

Garth Maker

Associate Professor Garth Maker

President of Academic Council

Secretary to Senate

Trudi McGlade
University Secretary


Good governance promotes better performance

Our Senate Charter sets out the guiding governance principles and practices that should be upheld at all times, as well as bringing together the policies and procedures that the Senate adopts and which form part of best practice governance.

All of Murdoch’s stakeholders are entitled to demand performance, fairness, transparency, accountability and appropriate disclosure from the Senate. This dictates that a comprehensive professional focus on effective governance must take high priority.

Governance offers a framework for approving the Strategic Plan of the institution, the oversight of its resources, the approval of its policies and procedures, the appointment, review and support of its Vice Chancellor, and an informed understanding of its programs and activities.

As part of our ongoing commitment to improving Murdoch's governance standards, the Senate has adopted this Statement of Governance Principles.

University Chancellors Council

Murdoch University is a participant in the University Chancellors Council (UCC). The UCC comprises Chancellors of all public, not-for-profit universities within Australia. The UCC is used as a means for university Chancellors to discuss key issues and current events surrounding the tertiary education sector in Australia.


2024 Meeting dates2024 Document deadlines
Tuesday 12 MarchTuesday 27 February
Tuesday 7 MayTuesday 23 April
Tuesday 25 JuneTuesday 11 June
Tuesday 27 AugustTuesday 13 August
Tuesday 29 OctoberTuesday 15 October
Tuesday 10 DecemberTuesday 26 November


Contact us

University Secretary’s Office

Chancellery Building
90 South Street,
Murdoch, Western Australia 6150
Get directions

Phone: +61 8 9360 6544

Fax: +61 8 9360 6847