Facebook Twitter Yammer

About Murdoch University

Murdoch University was established by the Murdoch University Act 1973, an Act of the Western Australian Parliament.

Named after prominent Australian academic and essayist Sir Walter Murdoch, Murdoch University began operations as the state’s second university in 1973, and accepted its first students in 1975. Murdoch University prides itself on being a University whose students and staff are free thinkers, with a strong desire to discover, to reach their full potential and to use their imagination to make a difference.

The University currently has more than 25,000 students and over 1,500 continuing and fixed-term staff, including 3,600 overseas students from around 85 countries studying in Perth and another 5,760 studying offshore.

The first undergraduate cohort commenced in 1975 with 714 students.

Click here for an overview of the University.

                                                                                             64Z0112 MU Entrance evening.jpg