Participants at the National Colloquium

Participants in the National Colloquium on the Future of Indonesian in Australian Universities were drawn from:

  • Seventeen Australian universities currently running Indonesian langauge programs;
  • Australian and Indonesian government bodies including: the Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations (DEEWR); the Department of Defence; the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (Victoria); the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT); the Australian Defence Force (ADF); the Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC); the Department of Education (WA); the Parliament of Western Australia; the Indonesian Ministry of Education (DEPDIKNAS); the Embassy of the Republic of Indonesia, Canberra (KBRI Canberra); the Consulate General of the Republic of Indonesia, Perth (KJRI Perth); and the Consulate General of the Republic of Indonesia, Darwin (KJRI Darwin).
  • International universities including: Universitas Pendidikan Indonesia; the University of Hamburg (Germany); the University of Frankfurt (Germany,; andNanzan University (Japan);
  • Business and Community Associatations including: the Asia Education Foundation (AEF); the Australia Indonesia Business Council (AIBC); the Association of Teachers of Indonesian as a Foreign Language (APBIPA); the Asian Studies Association of Australia (ASAA); the Australian Labor Party (ALP); the Australian Consortium for 'In-Country' Indonesian Studies (ACICIS); Balai Bahasa Perth Inc.; theWestralian Indonesian Language Teachers Association (WILTA); and


Dr Zifirdaus Adnan University of New England
A/Prof Pam Allen University of Tasmania
Ms Connie Andreana Department of Education (VIC)
Ms Nicole Andres Murdoch University
Mrs Mas Ketti Ariyati Indonesian Consulate, WA
Prof Monika Arnez University of Hamburg
Mr Nyoman Artaya APBIPA, Indonesia
Mr Greg Ashman University of Tasmania
Prof Harry Aveling La Trobe University
Prof. Dr. Aminudin Aziz Universitas Pendidikan Indonesia
Mrs Karen Bailey Balai Bahasa Perth Inc.
Dr David Bourchier University of Western Australia
Ms Sue Cooper WILTA
Dr Richard Curtis Charles Darwin University
Ms Dani Darudana Balai Bahasa Perth Inc
Ms Amanda Day DEEWR
Dr Novi Djenar University of Sydney
Prof Kerry Dunne University of Wollongong
Dr Michael Ewing University of Melbourne
Ms Firdaus   Flinders University
A/Prof Michele Ford University of Sydney
Prof. Dr. Arndt Graf University of Frankfurt
Ms Wieke Gur
A/Prof Greg Hainge University of Queensland
A/Prof Lesley Harbon University of Sydney
Ms Juanita Healy Department of Education (WA)
A/Prof Ariel Heryanto Australian National University
Prof David Hill ALTC Fellow/Murdoch University
Mrs Danielle Horne Helena College, WA
Ms Kirrilee Hughes Australia Indonesia Business Council
Ms Nenen Ilahi Australian National University
Prof Purnendra Jain President, ASAA
H.E. Mr Primo Alui Joelianto Indonesian Ambassador to Australia
Mr Bill Johnston Parliament of Western Australia / ALP
Prof Aris Junaidi Cultural Attache, Embassy of the Republic of Indonesia
Dr Philip King ACICIS
Dr Michelle Kohler University of South Australia
Ms Yacinta Kurniasih Monash University
Mr Bernard Lane The Australian
Ms Siobhan Lenihan ALTC  
Mr Ian Lewis Australian Defence Force
Prof Tim Lindsey University of Melbourne
Mr Wisnu Lombard Indonesian Consulate,WA
A/Prof Anton Lucas Flinders University
Dr Rochayah Machali University of New South Wales
Ms Denyse MacNish Murdoch University
Dr Phillip Mahnken University of the Sunshine Coast
Prof Gary Martin Murdoch University
Mr John McGregor Department of Defence
Dr Rhoderick McNeill University of Southern Queensland
Mr Stephen Miller University of Tasmania
Dr Mikihiro Moriyama Nanzan University
Mr Kurt Mullane Asia Education Foundation
Ms Julie Newnham Department of Education (VIC)
Dr Lindy Norris Murdoch University
Ms Ida Nurhayati-Margono UNSW@ADFA
Prof Lyn Parker University of Western Australia
Dr Julia Read University of Melbourne
Mr Nyoman Riasa APBIPA, Indonesia
Ms Elisabeth Riharti University of Melbourne
Mr Richard Rodgers DFAT
Dr Minako Sakai UNSW@ADFA
Mr Syahri Sakidin Indonesian Consulate, WA
Prof Krishna Sen University of Western Australia
Ms Linda Seymour Flinders University
Dr Sugiyono   Ministry of Education, Indonesia
Ms Marsudi Sujanti Australian National University
Mr Syarief Syamsuri Indonesian Consul WA
Prof Andrew Taggart Murdoch University
Mr Ross Taylor Australia Indonesia Business Council
Mr Irianto Tedja Murdoch University
Mr Paul Tickell UNSW@ADFA
Dr Rosslyn Von der Borch Flinders University
A/Prof Andrew Webster Murdoch University
Dr Geoff Woollams University of Queensland
Mr Wahono Yulianto Indonesian Consulate, Darwin
Ms Indrawati Zifirdaus University of New England