As part of the Fellowship, Professor David T. Hill visited each Australian university that offers Indonesian language. Meeting with teaching and administrative staff to discuss language policy and strategies for the advancement of Indonesian. Professor Hill looked at issues such as enrolment numbers, institutional support, staffing, and collaborative arrangements between institutions. He also met informally with students studying Indonesian, to solicit their views and suggestions; and consulted with professional associations and relevant staff from the departments of education. Professor Hill also visited universities in Asia and Europe.

List of Visits

The following universities and other organisations were visited:

Australian Capital Territory

  • Australian National University
  • Australian Defence Force Academy
  • Indonesian Embassy, Canberra
  • Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations (DEEWR)
  • Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT)

New South Wales

  • University of New South Wales
  • University of New England
  • University of Wollongong
  • University of Sydney
  • University of Western Sydney
  • Lowy Institute
  • Australia Indonesia Business Council (AIBC)

Northern Territory

  • Charles Darwin University


  • University of Queensland
  • University of the Sunshine Coast
  • University of Southern Queensland

South Australia

  • Flinders University
  • University of Adelaide
  • University of South Australia
  • Department of Education and Children's Services
  • Modern Language Teachers Association of South Australia
  • Indonesian Language Teachers Association of South Australia


  • University of Tasmania
  • Tasmanian Department of Education


  • University of Melbourne
  • Monash University
  • La Trobe University
  • Deakin University
  • Asia Education Foundation
  • Victorian Department of Education

Western Australia

  • Murdoch University
  • University of Western Australia
  • Indonesian Consulate, Perth
  • West Australian Indonesian Language Teachers Association (WILTA)


  • Leiden University, Holland
  • University of Goteborg, Sweden
  • EUROSEAS Conference, Sweden
  • University of Hamburg, Germany
  • University of Berlin, Germany
  • University of Frankfurt, Germany
  • University of Cologne, Germany
  • SOAS, University of London, England
  • University of La Rochelle, France
  • University of Naples, Italy
  • Japanese Association of Indonesian Scholars Conference, Japan

Human Research Ethics Committee

The Fellowship consulation process was approved by the Murdoch University Human Research Ethics Committee (HREC).