University staff honoured at awards ceremony

Meat science researchers standing together at the staff awards

High-achieving and long-serving Murdoch University educators, researchers and professional staff have been celebrated at the annual Staff Awards ceremony.

The most prestigious award of the event – The 2018 Murdoch University Senate Medal – was presented to Frances Brigg, a technical and professional officer at the State Agricultural Biotechnology Centre (SABC) for more than 20 years.

The Senate Medal award recognises outstanding, faithful and effective service to the University and can be presented to staff and members of the community.

Acting Vice Chancellor Romy Lawson said Ms Brigg was a deserving winner.

“In her role of maintaining and operating DNA sequencers, and training researchers to use them, Frances has demonstrated excellence beyond the normal call of duty,” Professor Lawson said.

Ms Brigg said she was proud to be part of the SABC’s phenomenal research success, which has resulted in a maximum score of five for its agricultural biotechnology research in the last three rounds of the Excellence in Research Australia evaluations.

“I’ve worked closely with many talented and enthusiastic young scientists over the years, and it’s been wonderful to see them go on to establish their own research groups around the world,” Ms Brigg said.

Professor Lawson said the staff awards were an opportunity to pause and recognise the outstanding teaching, research and professional staff who contribute to the unique and diverse Murdoch community.

“Our people are what makes Murdoch so special and it is wonderful to recognise just some of our inspirational and hard working staff at this ceremony,” Professor Lawson said.

“We all contribute to the success of this University and together have the power to transform the world in which we live.”

Around 150 staff members and their families attended the ceremony at The Reveley Room at RAC Arena.


2018 Murdoch University Senate Medal – Frances Brigg

2018 Vice Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Services – Clinical Placement Team – Elizabeth Oliver, Joanne Hally, Julie Robinson and Jackie Brown

2018 Vice Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Learning and Teaching – Dr Mike van Keulen

2018 Vice Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (early career teaching) – Dr Melissa Merchant

2018 Australian Awards for University Teaching, Citation - Associate Professor Mary Anne Kenny

2018 Australian Awards for University Teaching, Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning – Bachelor of Nursing ePortfolio Learning Program – Associate Professor Caroline Nilson, Dr Martin Hopkins, Prue Andrus, Helen Dugmore and Cormac Norton

2019 Vice Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Early Career Development and Achievement –Dr Belinda Brown

2019 Vice Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Research - Outstanding Research Development – Associate Professor Jeremiah Peiffer and Dr Rachel Standish

2019 Vice Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research – Impact in Communities – Meat Science Group

2019 Vice Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Research – Distinguished and Sustained Achievement – Professor Treena Burgess, Professor Helena Grehan and Professor John Howieson

20 years of service: Karen Denholm, Kathryn Trees, Regina Carr, Cassandra Berry, Sue Hele, Genene Ringelstein, Kerry Ellis, Peter Irwin, Wayne Greene, Chris Smyth, Sugeesh Ariyaratna, Neisha Sullivan, Diane Lee, Guy Hall, Liah Cable, Kylie Perry, Pat Birrell, Allison Hymus

30 years of service: Helen Martin, Tracey Conte, Lian Chan, Jane Hutchison, David Moody, Michael Calver

40 years of service: Rosie Price, Vijay Mishra, John Bolton, Ross O'Neil

All of the photos from the event can be viewed in this gallery.

Posted on:

28 Jun 2019

Share this article:

Get in Touch

If you'd like to learn more about anything discussed in this article, please contact our media team.


Show your support

Clap to show your support for the article