Thought leaders to support Murdoch’s vision

Murdoch University's new Vice Chancellor's External Advisory Board met for the first time at the Murdoch Art Gallery.

A group of local, national and international business, community and public policy leaders have joined the Murdoch University community to provide valuable advice, insights and support for the future success of the University.

Seventeen outstanding national and international change-makers and thought leaders, many with existing links to Murdoch, last night joined the Vice Chancellor’s External Advisory Board.

Their backgrounds cover international trade; higher education; banking and finance; politics; the environment; Indigenous empowerment; sports leadership; public policy; the Arts and innovative industries.

Australia’s Ambassador to China from 2007 to 2011, Dr Geoff Raby, is the Chair of the Board.

Vice Chancellor Eeva Leinonen said she was proud to welcome members to their first meeting on campus last night.

“Each member of my External Advisory Board has been selected for their strong networks, their vision and their professional tenacity,” Professor Leinonen said.

“This is a stellar group of thought leaders from both within Australia and globally, who will lend their expertise, experience and networks to assist our University in realising its vision of becoming a truly global institution that educates free thinkers and provides innovative solutions to some of the world’s biggest challenges.

“The establishment of the Board is an important part of our 2017- 2027 Strategic Plan and Future Horizon as we seek to extend our collaborative partnerships with business, industry and government. 

“We are truly honoured to have such a diverse and talented group of individuals join the Murdoch family.”

External Advisory Board members:

Dr Geoff Raby, Chairman and CEO, Geoff Raby and Associates, former Australian Ambassador to China
David Flanagan, AM CitWA, Murdoch University Chancellor
Ms Deidre Willmott, Non-executive Director, Australia Post
Mr Adam Handley, Partner, National Markets and Countries Leader; China FDI      Markets Leader, Minter Ellison
Mr Bin Jun Zhuang AM, Group Business Development Manager, Fortescue Metals Group
Mr Nigel Hearne, Managing Director, Chevron Australia
Mr Alan Dodge AM  CitWA, Chevalier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres; Murdoch  Board Member 2009-2017
Ms Sue MacLeman, CEO, MTP Connect
Professor Kevin Urama, Senior Advisor to the President of the Africa Development Bank
Mr John Langoulant, Director of the Committee for Economic Development of Australia 
Ms Christina Matthews, CEO, Western Australian Cricket Association
Ms Gail McGowan, Director-General, Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage, Government of Western Australia
Ms Ranya Alkadamani, Founder, Impact Group International
Mr Tim Hammond, Barrister, Central Law Chambers, Perth
Mrs Maegha Rambal, Chief Executive Officer, Perdaman Global Services
Ms Shelley Cable, Senior Consultant, PwC Indigenous Consulting
Dr Robert Isaacs AM OAM, Executive Manager of Social Lending, Keystart Home Loans

Posted on:

5 Sep 2018

Share this article:

Get in Touch

If you'd like to learn more about anything discussed in this article, please contact Connie Clarke on 9360 2734 / 0424 287 361 or by email.


Show your support

Clap to show your support for the article