Murdoch Commission

WA Advisory Group

The SMC Advisory Group is comprised of stakeholders and specialists with a broad range of expertise from business, government, academia and the wider WA community.

The Advisory Group is chaired by Professor Lyn Beazley, AO FTSE.


  • Provides expert content advice: the SMC Advisory Group will offer comment and advice on matters relating to the SMC work program, as requested by the Commission.
  • Provides strategic support for the SMC communication strategy: the SMC Advisory Group will assist the Commission secretariat, in engaging with key stakeholders to ensure the successful dissemination of the Commission’s work.



Professor Lyn Beazley, AO FTSE


Mr Michael Wood, State Director, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Rob Delane, Director General, Department of Agriculture and Food Western Australia

Dr Terry Enright, Executive Chairman, Australian Export Grains Innovation Centre (AEGIC)

Mr Peter Roberts, Panel Chair, Grains Research and Development Corporation (GRDC) Western Regional Panel (TBC)

Professor Shashi Sharma, Chair, Biosecurity and Food Security, Murdoch University

Dr Jeffrey Wilson, Lecturer in International Political Economy, Murdoch University

Ms Sinead Lehane, Programme Leader, Future Directions International Global Food and Water Crises

Mr Peter Trefort, Director, Meat and Livestock Australia

Ms. Elizabeth Brennan, National President and WA Board Representative, Australian Women in Agriculture