Murdoch Commission

Commission Members

The Murdoch Commission is proud to draw together a distinguished group of Commissioners appointed from government, business and academia. Under the leadership of our two Co-Chairs, Mrs Kerry Sanderson AO and Professor Chung Min Lee, our Commissioners represent an extensive range of expertise and experience in the key issues and challenges confronting WA and the South East Asian region.

You can learn more about our Commissioners by reading their individual profiles below.


Ms Kerry Sanderson AO, Non Executive Director Downer Group; Non Executive Director Atlas Iron; Board Member, St John of God Health Care

Professor Chung Min Lee, Professor of International Relations, Yonsei University, South Korea; Ambassador for National Security Affairs, Republic of Korea


Ambassador John McCarthy AO, National President, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Professor Dorojatun Kuntjoro-Jakti, Professor of Political Economics, Universitas Indonesia

Dr Denis Hew, Director, APEC Policy Support Unit, Singapore

Professor Yong Wang, Director, Centre for International Political Economy, Peking University, Beijing

Professor Kanishka Jayasuriya, Director of the Indo-Pacific Governance Research Centre, University of Adelaide

Mr David Flanagan, Chairman, Atlas Iron; Chancellor, Murdoch University

Professor Takashi Terada, Professor of International Relations, Faculty of Law, Doshisha University

Dr Rajiv Kumar, Senior Fellow, Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi, formerly Director and Chief Executive of the Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations (ICRIER)

Associate Professor Helen Nesadurai, Associate Professor and Deputy Head of School (Education), School of Arts and Social Sciences, Monash University (Sunway Campus)

Dr Jeffrey Wilson, Lecturer in Politics and International Studies, Fellow of the Asia Research Centre, Murdoch University

Commission Secretariat

Director of Studies – Associate Professor Michael Crozier

Research Coordinator, the Murdoch Commission – Cat Bevan-Jones