Bookmark and Share

Join our celebration of alumni achievements

With over 40 years as a leading research intensive institution Murdoch University has a wealth of impressive graduates. From dynamic leaders in politics, business and research to inspiring alumni working tirelessly in the community, our graduates are making a difference.

The Murdoch University Distinguished Alumni Awards recognise and celebrate the outstanding professional achievements, community service and personal journey of our exceptional alumni.

Experience the awards

Share the magic of the 2017 Murdoch University Distinguished Alumni Awards ceremony.

In April 2018, upper Bush Court on the South Street campus in Western Australia was transformed with a marquee and lighting, taking advantage of the picturesque surrounds at Murdoch University.

The 2017 winners, Dr Adam Bandt, Professor Wendy Carlin, The Honorable Justice James Edelman, Dr Bill Hare, Distinguished Professor John Hartley AM, joined Emcee Dr Alison Gaines, senior Murdoch leadership, academics and VIP guests at the event.

Special guests included the Consul-General of United States Rachel Cooke, Member for Melbourne and Deputy Leader of the Australian Greens The Honourable Dr Adam Bandt, WA Minister for Housing, Veterans Issues and Youth The Honourable Peter Tinley AM, Mayor of City of Fremantle Dr Brad Pettitt, Member for South West Region The Honourable Dr Sally Talbot, Shire President of Serpentine Councillor Michelle Rich, The Honourable Justice James Edelman, the Chief Justice of WA The Honourable Wayne Martin AC, The Honourable Justice Ralph Simmonds, Vice Chancellor Professor Eeva Leinonen and members of the Murdoch University senior leadership. The evening’s magic was captured and edited by our very talented Murdoch alumnus, Callum Koch.

More Information

More information


Got a question?

Past Award Winners

View our past Distinguished Alumni Awards